The participants of Muscles2Meet 2017 with Princess Beatrix, patroness of the Prinses Beatrix Spierfonds.

Neuromuscular Young Talent Symposium

The date for Muscles2Meet 2019 is set, please block May 24th-25th in you calendars!


Muscles2Meet is a symposium for all PhD students working on neuromuscular diseases in the Netherlands, to get to know each other and the research field. After the first two succesful editions in 2016 and 2017, the symposium has become a biennial event. The next edition will take place on May 24th and 25th 2019.

Save the Date

Muscles2Meet 2017

Muscles2Meet 2017 took place on May 12th-13th in conference centre Woudschoten in Zeist. The organizing committee put together an exciting program, taking all feedback from the first edition in account. The official opening on May 12th  was once again graced by the presence of Her Royal Highness Princess Beatrix, patroness of the Prinses Beatrix Spierfonds. She attended the opening lecture by prof. dr. Jan Smeitink and had a short meeting with several participants of the meeting. The program for the rest of the symposium included amongst others parallel sessions on neuromuscular research and collaboration, a dinner and pubquiz, workshops on career development and a lecture from GBS-patient Wesley Fechter.

The committees

The organizing committee of Muscles2Meet 2019 consists of:

  • Merel Broers, Erasmus MC
  • Johan Lim, Amsterdam UMC
  • Renee Lustenhouwer, Radboudumc
  • Louise Otto, UMC Utrecht
  • Mara Tihaya, LUMC
  • Simone van den Berge, Prinses Beatrix Spierfonds

The steering committee for Muscles2Meet consists of:

  • Annemieke Aartsma-Rus, LUMC
  • Leonard van den Berg, UMC Utrecht/Spierziekten Centrum Nederland
  • Pieter van Doorn, Erasmus MC/Spierziekten Centrum Nederland

Princess Beatrix adressed the participants of Muscles2Meet 2017.